pasterurban.blogg.se

Most popular depeche mode songs
Most popular depeche mode songs






I had become a serious fan in the years between the releases of “Violator” and “Songs of faith and devotion” and I distinctly remember the first time I heard anything new from the latter album. They would only go on to release two more albums in the 90s but each were, if not as iconic as “Violator”, at least tremendously successful and continued to build on the momentum from the album before. “Violator” really blew things wide open for Depeche Mode, continuing the work of exposing them to a worldwide market that “Music for the masses” and its ensuing tour began. If you’ve gone back to check, you’ll notice that the song didn’t appear in my 1980s top five and that’s because I’ve always lumped it in with their 90s output, so (*spoiler alert*) don’t be surprised to see it below. It was released as a single in 1989 and appeared on their 1990 album “Violator”. I mentioned in passing back in January that my first real introduction to the band came by way of “Personal Jesus”. My own personal celebration of Mode’s 40 years can still continue, as it must, albeit perhaps at a slower pace than I was planning. Everything ‘normal’ has pretty much ground to a halt and our purveyors of music have had to find innovative ways, mostly via social media, to stay creative and relevant. Indeed, the pandemic likely had a huge impact on whatever plans the three remaining members of Depeche Mode were hatching to celebrate this year, much as it has for musicians the world over, whether it be album releases or tours or music festival appearances. You might have also heard talk about this thing called COVID-19 and the havoc it is wreaking on what we have all come to know as our ‘normal lives’. And I’m not just talking about the announcement that Mode was named part of the class of 2020 for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, though that ceremony has been delayed now until the end of the year.

However, I’m still optimistic that I can wrap this one up before the year is out.Ī lot has transpired since I started writing for this series back in January (and since I actually started writing this post at the end of March).

most popular depeche mode songs

And it’s pretty obvious by now that my plans of wrapping things up with a final post on the rest of their work before the end of July is dead in the water.

most popular depeche mode songs

I focused on their 1980s back catalogue in that first post and I was hoping to post this second part focusing on their output from the 1990s back in March but that obviously didn’t happen. I got the idea to do a three part “Top five tunes” series of posts on Depeche Mode when I read the news late last year that they would be celebrating their 40th anniversary together in 2020.

most popular depeche mode songs

It was way back at the end of January that I posted the first part of this series. Vince Clarke (keyboards, lead and backing vocals, guitars) 1980–1981Īlan Wilder (keyboards, piano, drums, backing vocals) 1982–1995 Martin Gore (vocals, keyboards, guitars) 1980-presentĪndy Fletcher (keyboards, backing vocals) 1980-present






Most popular depeche mode songs